In The Line Of Duty

The CBP Seal

It’s shocking how some things can change with the click of a mouse button. Though that might sound silly, to me, at least, it’s true. But I didn’t have to click on anything to find out about the death of the United States Border Patrolman who was killed in the line of duty this week.

He was putting out a stop stick for an escaping convicted felon (and drug smuggler) who would not yield to law enforcement. The felon, driving a hummer, swerved over to the side of the road to hit the agent and succeded. The driver then completed his escape into Mexico and left the agent to die on the side of the road.

I have a very strong opinion on the immigration problem, and since I have lived on the border of Arizona and Mexico my WHOLE life, it has always been a problem. It’s just now that the nation is seeing what the effects can be, though if you aren’t here, you get a hazy view of what’s really going on.

Did you know that ANOTHER underground tunnel was discovered last week? A tunnel that a small pickup truck could be driven through (and had been driven in, according to the tracks found inside the tunnel). That makes the third tunnel found this year. THIS YEAR. 2008.

Although I could go on and on about this subject, I would simply like to say that my thoughts and prayers are with the family of the man who was killed. His brother is stationed in Nogales and 5 vans of BP Agents drove to Yuma to pay their respects. A tragedy that could have been avoided, a tragedy that could have been prevented….maybe it could be a lesson learned instead.

2 thoughts on “In The Line Of Duty

  1. I am with you 100% on the immigration problem. It’s one of those subjects that really furiates me. I’m so sorry to hear about that man that was brutally killed by someone who in my opinion has no heart or sense of decency.

    And tunnels??? Are you serious?! What the heck?! These people are so bent on being able to easily get through the border that it amazes me.

    Loren and I read that there are cameras that line the border (here in Texas, I don’t know about AZ) and there is a website that was up that you can watch the border through these cameras and if you see anyone crossing you contact the border patrol and they’ll catch those illegally crossing the border. Loren and I will check up on the website here and there and for some reason it’s not up (I forget why). It said that it would be this month. Loren and I are all for this website.

    Sorry for the novel!

I'd LOVE to hear what you think!

