Yep…Still Here.

Well, hello out there and welcome back! Ok, I guess I should be saying welcome back to me. You know. The author of this blog. I know, I know. I’ve been out for like, a week or so. But I have to tell you, I have been BUSY!!!

Gila Man left for Brazil on Wednesday night and his mom and two sisters came down that same night to stay with me and keep Mr. B and I company for a while. I have to say, honestly, I mean REALLY honestly, I don’t know what I would have done if not for those great gals coming out and staying with me for those first few nights. It’s mighty lonely out here all by one’s lonesome and while the girls were here, we filled the night with laughter, talking, crying, sharing, and giggling. Though my house was messy and not in the shape I wanted it to be in for the arrival of guests, I thought to my self, “Self, these are women and moms and a wife who are going to visit you, and Self, they are FAMILY! It will all be just fine.”. And it was! It’s a good thing I didn’t go all out to clean the place up, cuz with the dogs running in and out, the birds meadering all over the place, and the kids taking off their shoes, my house has a very “lived in” feel. And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

It’s the sign that there was family here. That they helped my wash the dogs (really!). That we were able to eat around the table and share stories. That we (or rather, the kids) were able to argue about little things and learn small life lessons. That there was someone camping out in every room of the house. As I sit here and recall the last three days, I feel a smile come to my face and a lighter load on my shoulders. I don’t know how I would have taken those first three days without you girls here to keep me company. So. THANK YOU! I really miss you though, and you don’t have an excuse to stay away now. : )

One thought on “Yep…Still Here.

  1. I don’t get on this site very often, but I’m glad I did today. I am so glad you enjoyed our crashing at your place for a few days. I was able to relax knowing my kids were safe and having a blast for their spring break. We love you and hope to see you soon!

I'd LOVE to hear what you think!

