Now and Then

When Noah and I were in Tucson for his last eye appointment, we had a little time to kill so we ended up in the Bookman’s up the road from the Doctor’s Office. I told Noah he could choose one book and one movie, so he did. As I was browsing the movie selection, I saw that all their VHS movies were HALF OFF!! Well, that was all I needed to stop browsing and start LOOKING!

After half an hour of deliberating, Noah chose “Chicken Run” (Leslie would have loved that!) and I chose “The Princess Bride“.

Now, the last time I saw Princess Bride was when I was a Junior in high school over at my boyfriend’s house, sitting on the sofa in his living room, trying not to notice the glaring looks coming from his mom every few seconds. I thought this was going to be a great adventure movie, a movie filled with passion, and oh, I don’t know…SOMETHING. Needless to say, I thought it was the dumbest movie I had ever seen and told everyone in the room that I hated it. I was promtly driven home.

Fast foward a few years and here I am on my very own sofa, in my very own home, laughing histerically at this movie. It is funny and witty and full of romance and adventure and FUN! The giant? So cute even though you can’t understand half of what he’s saying. And the ROUS? UGLY! And that guy at the end performing the wedding ceremony? Just about the funniest scene in a movie – ever. What was I thinking? Who knows what the inner-workings of the teenage brain are. Mine, for sure, was not on track. Because this movie? Has now gone down as one of my all-time favorites.

5 thoughts on “Now and Then

  1. You know what they say……uh…..you know…..
    well, what DO they say???? Oh yeah, you become your mother when you grow up. (Poor Poor Sarah…she will be a LDS Hippie Woman!!!!!!)

  2. Hubby thinks that’s the dumbest movie ever. He doesn’t like “chick flicks” and if I were to stumble on home with that movie in my hand I know I would find him rolling his eyes at me, telling me that that is the “dumbest Mormon movie in the whole world” and a complete waste of whatever I paid for it–even if it was free. Even though it’s not a mormon movie, Loren says every Mormon girl watches it and makes it one of their faves.

    I on the other hand, think it’s adorable and funny as well. I’m glad you like it too!

  3. Hello,
    I work for Brighter Minds Media, a children’s publisher in Worthington, Ohio. I am researching bloggers who may be interested in our new Princess Bride software game as well as our other products. If you would like to receive free info/samples just shoot me an email (name, mailing address, and email). I also invite you to visit our website at http://www.brightermindsmedia.com for a complete list of our products.

    Thank you,
    Amanda

I'd LOVE to hear what you think!

