One of “THOSE” Weeks…

Yep. It’s been one of “those” weeks. The week where, seriously, if something else went wrong, it wouldn’t be hard to find a nice big rock to hide under for a day or two – and nobody would blame me!

Yes, I AM trying to have a good attitude. Yes, there are people out there who have/have had worse things happen to them. But for ME, Super Sarah Ann, this week was a bad one and I am NOT afraid to admit it.

My dishwasher was recalled. Not just in a “don’t use the high heat setting” kind of way, but in a “go out to the breaker box and turn off the power leading to your appliance” kind of way. Something about kitchen fires, nice.

We had food poisoning. All of us except the baby, who was smart enough NOT to eat the shrimp that the rest of us ate. Having food poisoning means puking and feeling achy and pooping and feeling weak. And because I’m a Mom (yay!), it means cleaning up all the pukes and poops from the other members of the family who puke in bed or think they are only gonna fart and there’s a surprise in their pants. I got to do that in between my OWN puking and, well….feeling weak. Fun stuff.

I am feeling bad because it was MY cooking that gave us food poisoning. Yes, I admit it! I cooked the dreaded shrimp that caused the pooping and the puking!! It was me! All the food poisoning stories I hear are all like, “I ate this egg roll at Jack in the Box” or, “I chowed down on this taco from Burger King” and I’m all like, “Yeah, that’s gross! I’ll never eat one of those there! How can those place serve food that makes people sick?”. But this was my own cooking in my own home, argh!!!! I will say, in my defense, that it was some cheap brand of shrimp and I was trying to save money, but it was my cooking that did us in. DOH!

Naturally, I had a LOT of laundry to do after the food poisoning debacle, but here again, the modern technology of our home was out to get me this week. My washing machine hasn’t been spinning lately, but if I go in and mess with it after the wash cycle has ended, I can get it to spin and empty the water from the tub. Well, this week, my little trick didn’t work. I tried to jiggle the knob, spin the knob around, set it to “rinse”, I even sang it a song, all to no avail. So I just set it to “spin” and the water drained out as the tub spun around, but the problem with that is that the clothes didn’t go trough the rinse cycle, a fact I realized while folding my stiff and static-y clothes that smelled faintly of soap. *deep and serious sigh here* So there are piles of sheets, blankets, and ripe clothes, just stinking up my garage, which is exactly what I want to see when I pull into the garage after running errands.

Add on to this *warning, tmi for most men* my own “plumbing” problems, and I had myself one hell of a week. AND, I’m not afraid to admit it, but I am sitting here with the fire extinguisher on my lap, posting this blog, while running the dishwasher. There is only so much one woman can handle.

5 thoughts on “One of “THOSE” Weeks…

  1. When it rains, it pours! So sorry you guys had such a horrible week! You need to come to Mesa and let me spoil you for a few days. Seriously.

  2. Esther, that sounds like a GREAT idea! When Mr. B is finished with his therapy sessions, we will head up there for a few days!!

  3. Och, Sarah. Poor baby. I’m sorry this has been such a rough week. You are handling it with your usual humor and grace, though. You are one tough cookie.

    Hugs and prayers,
    L

  4. Thanks for the prayers, Lori. And thanks for saying I handled it with grace, I sure didn’t FEEL graceful while I was tugging the soiled pants off of my 5-year-old and puking in the toilet at the same time….

    Your warm thoughts are very much appreciated!

I'd LOVE to hear what you think!

