An Answer

I could go on and on and on about my answer to this question, but I can honestly tell you very quickly.

I sat at that table and I thought for a minute. “A minute?” you say, “That’s not very long!” but you sit and think for a minute.

Time it out, I’ll wait.

One.

Minute.

See? It’s not that short when you are seriously contemplating any particular issue, which was what I was doing during that minute at our table while waiting for lunch.

Everyone has their battles, and everyone has their challenges. In a world filled with obsession about looks, I can understand why some of my challenges have become battles, but at the end of the day, do I want to be pretty? (if my brothers read this, they may NOT answer that rhetorical question).

At the end of my life, if I were to look back, would I want to say, “DANG! I was hot, yo! I was smokin, drop-dead gorgeous and able to eat whatever I wanted whenever I wanted it!”?

Why, yes. As a matter of fact, yes I would like to say that.

Does that make me a shallow person?

Absolutely not.

But I would rather live my life and have fun with my family and looks back and say, “DANG! That was awesome! There’s nothing that could have been better than living that life that I lived!” I would love to enjoy little moments and experience unique opportunities. Travel to those faraway places that I have DREAMED about visiting (yes, Ireland, I dream of you) and take my entire family with me so we would all have those great memories together. I would take the money and start making memories that would last longer than any old hot body would.

After my minute of deep contemplation, I shared my answer with my lunch buddies.

And then, because neither outcome could actually manifest itself in any way, I enjoyed a plate full of wings and pizza, because they are THE BEST on the planet, and I’m all about living in the moment. Cute body be damned.

7 thoughts on “An Answer

  1. Well here is my reasoning behind choosing the body. The choice was between A.) having to keep the body that we currently have but be super rich and B.) being able to eat whatever you want and still have a drop dead gorgeous body. Obviously, choice B could never really happen, I don’t think that there will ever be a drug or a surgery that will make you immune to a lifetime of ice cream and pasta. But it seems to me that choice A is actually acheiveable through hard work and careful planning. I’m confidant that if I’m prudent in my spending that I will be able to buy a house and travel and do all the things that I want to do. BUT… I can (and have) count calories till I’m blue in the face and spend hours working out and still have only semi-desirable results. Hence, my choice of the body. It seemed the most unattainable.

  2. Shawna, I concede – yours is the better answer! Though sometimes travel to anywhere but the ravine behind my home seems impossible…
    TinF, so sorry. I suppose that just because you are a man doesn’t mean you don’t have struggles, I just have to admit that most (ahem, ALL) men I know don’t really care about their physical appearance and wouldn’t care one single speck about the question. You are blessed with the permission to read said post.

  3. Ok…so I was thinking about this question last night as I seem to think about EVERYTHING just before the Sand Man’s dust is finally soaked through my skin.

    I have decided that I would have my fat body and keep the money. You said that you had to keep your body BUUUUUUUTTTT, I don’t believe you said anything about getting fatter. You said you can’t get smaller. So in other words, I can eat, and eat, and eat and not gain a pound!

    So bring on those PB M&M’s sucka! I’m gonna be fat, rich, AND happy! πŸ˜›

  4. Did you get the comment from me? I sent a comment but it didn’t show on here!

    Anyways, just incase you didn’t: I decided that I would keep the fat body and take the money. You mentioned about not being able to make yourself skinny after having the money but you didn’t say anything about gaining weight either!

    So I can eat all that I want and not gain a pound! So I can be fat, rich, AND happy! Bring on those PB M&Ms sucka!

  5. You are FUNNY!!! Your other comment was listed under a different user (I suppose I need an invite now!) so it didn’t show up.
    And I am not a sweets person, it would be bags of Doritos and tons of Sun Dried Tomato Wheat Thins with Cream Cheese slathered all over them. Ahhhhhh.

    I am SUCH food person!

I'd LOVE to hear what you think!

