What Lies Ahead

“We know not all that lies ahead of us. We live in a world of uncertainty. For some, there will be great accomplishment. For others, disappointment. For some, much of rejoicing and gladness, good health, and gracious living. For others, perhaps sickness and a measure of sorrow. We do not know. But one thing we do know. Like the Polar Star in the heavens, regardless of what the future holds, there stands the Redeemer of the world, the Son of God, certain and sure as the anchor of our immortal lives. He is the rock of our salvation, our strength, our comfort, the very focus of our faith.

In sunshine and in shadow we look to Him, and He is there to assure and smile upon us.”

Gordon B. Hinckley

We Testify of Jesus Christ

Ensign, May 2008

I am very grateful to Rachel for sharing this with me as we visited this afternoon, (she also brought me Russian ravioli, YUM!) because after reading it, I felt a large measure of peace. Some of you may not be religious, some of you may not even believe in God, but I KNOW He is there, and I am, especially right now, so grateful for his unconditional love for me. That’s how I’m feeling this evening, have a great night all!

11 thoughts on “What Lies Ahead

  1. Amen! That’s just so beautiful and so appropriate right now. I’m so glad to know you are feeling His peace this evening.

    I got to spend some time with your mom this afternoon and I so enjoyed talking with her. She loves you so very much, Sarah. You’re a lucky girl in so so many ways…

    Hugs…Danita

  2. Thanks for sharing! A beautiful quote that we can all read and apply to our lives. Your example of faith (not only in this situation but always) touches me and makes me want to be a better person.

  3. Amen is right! Sarah, I’m so glad that the words gave you peace. God is in control my friend and I pray that he will continue to give you peace as you deal with whatever does lie ahead. God Bless you and your family. We are out here praying for you.

  4. Lovely quotation, and full of peace and comfort-vibes. Good pick, Rachel!

    God is your strong tower right now, Sarah.

    Isaiah 40:31
    “But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew {their} strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; {and} they shall walk, and not faint.”

  5. I love President Hinckley and man I miss him. That was an awesome quote. He was truly an inspired man; knowledgeable of everything we individuals were experience.

    I wish you the best!

  6. I got to spend some time with you mom and my mom yesterday. I know where you get your strength of character from. You are both such strong amazing women!!

    By the way, love the turkey hat, LOL

I'd LOVE to hear what you think!

