The Aftermath

Sorry I haven’t been on here to update ya’ll on the progress of the surgery. I have a one word answer for you: pain. Lots, and LOTS of pain. I don’t know what I had expected to experience when I came in here, but that amount of pain, discomfort, and fear were NOT on the list.

I went in a little earlier than scheduled on Wednesday and I got to visit with a few folks while waiting in the surgery bay, and the next thing I remember was waking up shivering, shaking and crying in some “PACU” place. Te nurse kept telling me to sop crying because I was making it worse for myself. I had LOTS  f family and friends to greet me when I came back to my room, but the noise quickly became to much for me and everyone had to be kicked out. That Wednesday night was the

longest

night

of

my

life.

I have had two kids and they weren’t particularly easy births, but they were uneventful and did NOTHING to prepare me for the night after having my abdomen cut open. I counted down the seconds for nearly 30 minutes until the nurses could give me my morning meds. When they realized how much pain I was in, they set up a “pump” so I could push the button every 10 minutes and get the meds instead of getting it every 4 hours.

So, Thursday during the day wasn’t bad, I ended up sleeping through most of it, and Thursday night was good.

Friday was a great day, filled with guests, gifts, and even my boys came in to see me.

Saturday, though, has been a tough day. I think I have a cold and I’m very achy and shaky when I stand. Because the doctors decided to take e off of all narcotic pain killers, I have only had ibuprofen based products and they are quite as effective at qwelling the pain as the good drugs.

But over all, I got to keep my kidney, intestine, and any other organs rolling around down there and the mass ended up being smaller than the doc originally thought, more like the size of a large baseball.

The pathologists have NOT figured out what it is yet, it’s quite a mysterious “Blob”, but they are doing special tests on it over the weekend and will reconvene Monday to see what they think it is. Most likely, it’s a benign mass that grows on andrenal glands…hopefully.

Otherwise, I am ok. I’m shuffling around the hospital in my gown and walker, barely making it to the bathroom, and calling my nurse to put my handy “leg muffs” on (to prevent blood clots in the legs). So, you know, life is good. Plus, there’s soup, and that’s nice too.

10 thoughts on “The Aftermath

  1. As you remember, I had colon resection before coming to AZ. My biggest incision was only 4-5 inches, but I had an AWFUL first night after surgery. I can’t comprehend what you had to be feeling. I will continue to keep you in my prayers. It sounds like GREAT news so far.

    Baby yourself, especially if you get a fever. I ran a low-grade temp for about three weeks. I think it is the body’s way of fighting off infection.

    You will have a while to recover. Abdominal surgery is no picnic, so be patient. We will continue to pray for continued good news. You are so special! We love you!

  2. Oh Sarah, I know the pain must be terrible and that is not good news. But the fact that this “blob” may be benign is the very best news. As Ann said, please take the time you need to fully recover. You are in the prayers of many and in God’s heart. You are in my heart also. Praying.

  3. Sarah,

    I’m so glad that is all over now for you and now you can concentrate on healing and getting home again. Let others wait on you hand and foot, this may be the only time in your life you get to do that, so soak it all in! LOL

    Still praying for the “blob” to be nothing more than a “blob” with no alterior motive.

    God Bless and Keep Healing!

  4. So nice to read how you are doing. Thanks for updating us. Please do not apologize for not updating us sooner, I think we all understood. I am so relieved that you are doing better now, and am hoping that you will feel back to your normal self really soon. Keep it slow and take good care not to over do it. and CONGRATULATIONS on becoming an Auntie! Love you lots,
    Auntie Kathy and Family

  5. Maybe it was your “twin” ? I’m sorry to hear you are in so much pain. I can relate I had to have an emergency c-section with my last boy. It is definitly tramatic on the body to say the least. I hope you start feeling better soon, and remember to take it slow. You may start to feel better but don’t over do it cause it will just set you back again. 🙂 I’m glad to hear you got to keep all your insides!

  6. I have been thinking about you constantly. I am glad to hear that you are doing okay. I know the pain is terrible. I have had 2 c-sections. My best advice is to try to stand and walk a few steps as often as you can. It hurts now but it will make the pai go away faster. Other then that, be a BIG baby. Enjoy getting the attention and pampering while you can. Love you and we are sending our artic prayers to your warm weather.

  7. Wow, thanks for all you heartfelt thoughts and prayers, they mean so much! You gals are all just GREAT!

    And Sarah #2, sorry about your arctic weather, it was 105 here 2 days ago.

I'd LOVE to hear what you think!

