Posting

I am not a resolution maker. If I set a goal, I do it privately after a lot of consideration and planning on HOW I am going to attain that specific goal. I don’t know when I became such a planner, but it’s the only way I roll nowadays.

That being said, I don’t have any New Year’s resolutions. But I do have a few goals I would like to attain this year, and WordPress actually helped me with one of them. It’s called a “postaday” or “postaweek” challenge (I think I got the terminology wrong on that, but you get what I’m saying, right?)

Folks have asked me why I blog, and even though started as a way for loved ones to keep up with our family activities and growing boys, in the end,  it’s not for anyone else but myself. Selfish, right? I’m totally ok with that, because being a mom has made me that way.

“WHAT??” You exclaim, “That’s not what being a mom is all about! Being a mom helps you to become less selfish!! I am much less of a selfish person now that I’ve become a mother and wife and homemaker/working mom/single mom.”

And while I agree that being a mom is not ALL about being selfish, I will clue you in to why I know that being a mom (and even being a wife) has led me to a few more acts of complete and total selfish behavior. Take food, for example, because I LOVE food. Good food. I go out of my way to buy the foods that my boys like to eat and the snacks that they love to put in their lunches. I also like to buy an occasional treat for myself and put in on the top shelf in the pantry. You know, up where no one can see it…except my freakishly tall husband. Who will find it and gobble it up in one HUGE bite, not taking teeny tastes and savoring each one, not realizing how rare such a yummy treat is, and not having any regard to what it is or who it might be for (need a perfect example? Just take the out-of-this-world-delicious caramel corn that my Bestie up the street makes…I’ll warn you now; NO TOUCHY!).

Same goes with time and “Me” activities. I spend time every day with my husband and kids, and I LOVE it! It’s fun, it’s crazy, it’s busy and it’s why I got married and had kids, even if I’m not with them I do things for them. Now, I’m not complaining, I really, really enjoy my time with my little family (I mean, I LOVE it!)  but I’ve got to have a little bit, just a smidgen, of ME time in the evenings. Time to unwind and loosen up and get some of those feelings off of my chest and into my blog.

And that, my friends, is what leads me back (although, admittedly, it’s in quite a round-about fashion) to my original idea. I blog because it’s therapeutic for me and keeps me in touch with amazing people and I get to share my life with friends, family and loved ones everywhere. This is where WordPress comes in.

Every day (or every week), WordPress will be posting ideas and helpful hints and “starter sentences” to get the juices of the mind flowing and give me something to blog about.

Since one of my goals was to blog more this year so I can print it out as my journal and look back on what my life was like at certain points throughout the stages of my family, this is the perfect solution for my goal.

So I’m not saying I’m going to blog every day, but I will be, at minimum, 3 days a week, and I think that’s selfish enough for me, but sparse enough for the family.

See? Compromise. I’m allllll about that this year…





3 thoughts on “Posting

  1. I love that idea, but as a mom and wife, there are other feelings that go along with that “feeling like” blogging.
    Like guilt about blogging when I should be doing other things in our home.
    Sooooooo….I’ll try this out and see if it prompts me to get on the computer for more than just me!

  2. Good for you, Sarah! You’ve inspired me. I’m going to have to look into this to get myself back on track. 🙂 I tried the “blog when I feel like it” thing, but I’m not getting too far.

I'd LOVE to hear what you think!

