A Choice

You know, we humans are a lot alike.

We (if we are so blessed) have 2 hands, 2 feet, 2 legs, 2 arms, 1 torso, 1 head (with or without hair).

And at the same time, we humans are all sooooo vastly different.

We speak different languages, have different skin tones, express ourselves differently, LEARN differently.

I had a friend call me and talk to be about the decisions that I’ve made recently regarding my son and his education.

She was upset and didn’t know which step to take next, and I (hope) gave her enough information to make an educated decision regarding her child and his education.

I’m sharing this very personal decision with you because I know, I KNOW, that it’s the right decision for us as a family. I know that it has been a hugely ginormous blessing in our lives. And I know that because I did it, anyone who is questioning the education of their child can do it.

You see, I’m one of THOSE moms…

A

*GASP*

home school mom.

Until December, I might have looked my way with one eyebrow raised and a slight tilt to my head insinuating that I thought you were ka-RAZY. Because only a crazy woman would go taking her child out of a perfectly acceptable and even socially required public school and try to educate them at home.

I might have even rolled my eyes when the discussion of individualized learning came up.

I’m kind of a jerk like that.

At same time, I realize (and have known for awhile) that my son learns a little differently than other kids. He LOVES hands on experiments, he thrives with one-on-one attention, and his discipline must coincide with the mistake that was made. Otherwise, he just kinda freaks out and has a meltdown.

I learned long ago that my son is a square peg.

The children he was attending school with were all neat little round pegs.

This is my journey to educate my son in the best capacity I know how, and this is the choice for my, my son, and our family right now. I have all the confidence in the world that my child will be taught and loved in the way that he needs during this time of his life. (thanks for that, Aria!)

So, while I’m not going to rant and rave about public schools, I AM going to share the blessings that home-school has brought into our home and lives, so I’m thinking that it’s going to add plenty of good stories to this little blog!

2 thoughts on “A Choice

  1. Hey there, homeschool mom! I volunteer with an autism group on Tuesdays so I can’t make it, but I’ll for sure catch you on the next go-round!

I'd LOVE to hear what you think!

