Different

I had to call my husband at work and ask him,

“What makes me different from other people?”

“Um…well…you have a lot of really great qualities, but they don’t make you different from anybody else. You have a great attitude, but so do lots of people. I guess home schooling is kind of different, but it’s more weird than different and lots of people are doing that now, so it doesn’t set you apart. You have two kids, but that’s not different. You’re a Mormon, and a convert, but there a millions of them in the world. You make your own whole wheat bread, but I bet lots of women and wives do that. So I can’t really think of anything.”

We chatted for a few minutes, and I drank a big glass of water while he was talking about paperwork that he needed to finish, and before we said goodbye, I burped.

Not one of those lady-like belches that you can hide under your hand and say, “excuse me” to be forgiven.

I mean I belched on LOUD and LONG; one that would have shamed anyone (even a man) in the room.

“That’s pretty much it.” he said, “That makes you different from anyone else that I know. Especially the women. You can BURP. Remember when we saw that video of the woman who’s in the Guinness Book of World Records for the loudest burp and we turned and looked at each other and said, ‘that was pathetic!’? That makes you different. WAY different. You should blog about that.”

And so I have.

Now you know what makes me soooo different. And I am NOT ashamed.

Except for that one time when I nearly made the missionaries we were feeding fall over with shock when I burped and I didn’t realize they would hear it.

I might have been a little teeny tiny bit embarrassed by that one.

Just a bit.

30-day-challenge; What makes you different than everyone else?

 

3 thoughts on “Different

  1. LOVE IT! My sister is like you, she’s a crazy loud, long burper. Me? I honestly can’t even burp. It’s pathetic! Love your blog!

  2. Camilla, since I was born talent-less, I’m TOTALLY going to take credit for this burping business. You don’t need to burp because you’ve got all SORTS of mad talents!

I'd LOVE to hear what you think!

