National Smile Week Day 3

CRAFTS!!! Crafts make us smile!

Especially ones we do for church (because serving the Lord is not just a Sunday deal).

We made “Pick Sticks” for primary singing time on Sunday.

See, I’m the new primary chorister and we have a pretty big primary program coming up in October where the kids get to share everything they’ve learned all year with the rest of the congregation.

I usually lead the music for 20-25 minutes and choose the next “helper” to participate in an activity by how well that child sings.

Last Sunday, however, EVERY child sang well. Even the big kids who are “too cool” for primary were singing!! I had to ask the teachers to choose from their own classes because there was NO WAY that I could choose one of those sweet kiddos from the group!

I saw this idea on Pinterest (which is cool, but not as amazing as I’ve heard) that had “choosing sticks” with the names of the children written on them so that every child gets a chance to participate in our amazing activities, and we made it today!

It was simple and cute and both my boys were able to help with it, PLUS I get to use it this Sunday…bonus!!

I’m calling them pick sticks because it just sounds better that choosing sticks. And as long as the kids don’t use them to pick their noses, I think we’re all safe, ha!!

My lefty
My lefty

We painted one end red and the other side green so when I call one name I turn it to red until all the others are called!
We painted one end red and the other side green so when I call one name I turn it to red until all the others are called!

Yay! I get to paint!
Yay! I get to paint!

Dollar Tree score!
Dollar Tree score!

Red Ends
Red Ends

IMG_6509

After we did the sticks, they got to mix their colors!
After we did the sticks, they got to mix their colors!

(and they are totally out of order and one doesn’t have a caption and two are still uploading because my internet is the slowest in all of arizona. sorry ’bout that)

 

I'd LOVE to hear what you think!

